Page 2 of 2

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:50 pm
by bombastik
Cube wrote:
StephenIsFast wrote:
Stepdude wrote:I like it but seriously, have you been testing it out? The framerate is TERRIBLE, and my computer is not bad by any means. Framerate drops even on the ultralight theme.

Fix it and I might use it.



I have the same problem. :( I would defenitly be a good tester for this, because not being to run the game at even 40 fps sucks. It isn't my computer doing the problem, either. There really needs more testing on this beta.


Your computer itself might not be your problem but your configuration is DEFINITELY the problem. I'm guessing you are using windows. Are you running with opengl or d3d? Full screen? Windowed? vsync on or off?

So,is it beter to run SM5 with openGL?Because i am runing 3.95 with OpenGL and i must say its 20x beter then d3d,and ofc vsync off(windowed]

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:03 am
by StephenIsFast
Cube wrote:
StephenIsFast wrote:
Stepdude wrote:I like it but seriously, have you been testing it out? The framerate is TERRIBLE, and my computer is not bad by any means. Framerate drops even on the ultralight theme.

Fix it and I might use it.



I have the same problem. :( I would defenitly be a good tester for this, because not being to run the game at even 40 fps sucks. It isn't my computer doing the problem, either. There really needs more testing on this beta.


Your computer itself might not be your problem but your configuration is DEFINITELY the problem. I'm guessing you are using windows. Are you running with opengl or d3d? Full screen? Windowed? vsync on or off?


I am using this:

OS: Windows XP
Vsync: Off
Screen setting: Full Screen
Screen Resolution: 640x480

I can't get the game to run fast. I also tried running on SSE2 and the non-SSE2 to see if it helped the fps, but they both give the same low fps. This also happened on Alpha 3. :(

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:09 am
by bombastik
Ok just tested something.
I was run SM5 B1a with d3d,800x600,windows,vsync off and i was have 87 FPS on mainmanu (shit laptop with GeForce M520 meh!)
With same settings but with OpenGL i have 135 FPS.
That is low,I know.On 3.95 i have 250+ FPS.

EDIT:
SM5 B1a,CyberiaStyle7,1360x768,Window,OpenGL,Vsync off + "Disable visual theme" and "Disable desktop composition" I have 230+ FPS in game.I am happy with this.
Time to practice play on SM5 ^_^

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:41 am
by Stepdude
Hey bomba, do you have any issues trying to MA stuff on SM 5? I'm using Sm-ssc (which looks pretty damn similar) but I just can't MA at all on SM 5.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:05 pm
by bombastik
Ya man,I have the same problem.Playing with SM5 is just awkward for me.My MA is 2x beter with 3.95,I just dont know why!?Its like timeing isnt same like 3.95??!

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:19 pm
by foxfire667
bombastik wrote:Ya man,I have the same problem.Playing with SM5 is just awkward for me.My MA is 2x beter with 3.95,I just dont know why!?Its like timeing isnt same like 3.95??!

I noticed you have vsync off, you should really cap your frame rate. I know I had really bad timing issues once I turned vsync off and let my frame rate derp around.

Perhaps it's something that needs to be fixed in SM5, although anything above 60fps is rather pointless anyway honestly. As long as I kept my framerate at a constant 60, my MA has actually vastly improved since switching to SM5.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:30 pm
by bombastik
ya,but,I dont want to play fullscreen.Vsync is only for fullscreen?I never play fullscreen.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:06 pm
by foxfire667
bombastik wrote:ya,but,I dont want to play fullscreen.Vsync is only for fullscreen?I never play fullscreen.


I never play fullscreen either. All I know is, when Vsync is on, SM5 doesn't have atrocious accuracy for me. I'm not sure if this will work for anyone else, but you can try it and see if you feel a difference.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:29 pm
by Cube
Thanks for the info foxyfyre. I know many people have complained about timing being *off* with SM5 but no one reports it properly or explains it in further details. If the problem does exist the SM5 team needs to be made aware in order to fix it.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:21 pm
by StephenIsFast
How do I run SM 3.95 or SM 5 beta 1 with OpenGL and d3d? I don't understand that stuff, honestly. I should be able to get atleast 50 fps during online gameplay on SMO if it does work, because I get below 10 fps when editing a chart in sm 5. In 3.95, I get 80-150+ fps, depending on what part the editor is doing, like going into the chart editor, but it's really good to use 3.95! :) Also, where do you find the OpenGL or d3d stuff in SM 3.95/5 beta 1?

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:32 pm
by BarX
This release of StepMania 5.0 is amazing. I had so many issues with the last version that I played on which was preview 5 I think. It's significantly more stable and runs almost flawlessly. I would probably use this version more than the old ass 3.95 I used to consistently use. Impressive shit, developers. =D

EDIT: Current PC's that are using this build.

Toshiba Satellite A350 and an Acer Aspire (added nvidia geeforce 9800+, amazing little video card)

Even with older computers with XP still installed (P4 Extreme) it runs really well.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:45 am
by Cube
StephenIsFast wrote:How do I run SM 3.95 or SM 5 beta 1 with OpenGL and d3d? I don't understand that stuff, honestly. I should be able to get atleast 50 fps during online gameplay on SMO if it does work, because I get below 10 fps when editing a chart in sm 5. In 3.95, I get 80-150+ fps, depending on what part the editor is doing, like going into the chart editor, but it's really good to use 3.95! :) Also, where do you find the OpenGL or d3d stuff in SM 3.95/5 beta 1?

These are all questions that simple google searches can answer for you. You will never get help if you can't help yourself.

Check your Preferences.ini in %APPDATA%/Stepmania 5 (or something like that, I don't use Windows). Should not be too hard to figure out from there.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:47 am
by Cube
Stepdude wrote:Hey bomba, do you have any issues trying to MA stuff on SM 5? I'm using Sm-ssc (which looks pretty damn similar) but I just can't MA at all on SM 5.


sm-ssc is an older version of of SM5, you should update to SM5 Beta 1a.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:08 am
by bombastik
StephenIsFast wrote:How do I run SM 3.95 or SM 5 beta 1 with OpenGL and d3d? I don't understand that stuff, honestly. I should be able to get atleast 50 fps during online gameplay on SMO if it does work, because I get below 10 fps when editing a chart in sm 5. In 3.95, I get 80-150+ fps, depending on what part the editor is doing, like going into the chart editor, but it's really good to use 3.95! :) Also, where do you find the OpenGL or d3d stuff in SM 3.95/5 beta 1?

%appdata%\Roaming\Stepmania 5\Save\Preference.ini
Find "VideoRenderers" and put there only opengl

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:11 am
by bombastik
foxfire667 wrote:
bombastik wrote:ya,but,I dont want to play fullscreen.Vsync is only for fullscreen?I never play fullscreen.


I never play fullscreen either. All I know is, when Vsync is on, SM5 doesn't have atrocious accuracy for me. I'm not sure if this will work for anyone else, but you can try it and see if you feel a difference.

Ok,i was try this and its even worse.Fullscreen or not with vsync on it lag like a shit and its impossible to MA anything.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:42 pm
by StephenIsFast
I had these settings: Windows XP, Fullscreen, No vsync, 640x480, OpenGL, and I got 25 fps on the main menu. It's crap.

I used the same settings but used d3d, and got 45 fps on the main menu, but the fps sucks everywhere else other than the main menu no matter what video render I use. :( I will test this on 3.95 in which I say it is not a crappy version, and see what I get. My computer is a Dell Windows XP computer in which IT IS NOT CRAP, and I still get low fps on sm 5 beta 1. Any more help? Otherwise, I will have to use sm 3.95 from now on, because I really want the fps and game crashing problems fixed, but no one at ajworld.net even bothers to solve my sm5 beta 1 problems. >:( SOMEONE OVER AT THE SITE HAS TO HAVE TO HAVE DECENCY TO SEE THE PROBLEM, ATLEAST!!!

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:31 am
by BarX
No offense to all of you, but I have tried to recreate all and every single one of these problems and i ended up being unsuccessful. I have no idea where people are getting framerate issues from. Without vsync on, i pop at an easy 500 or more frames per second (1,000 even while in the simfile editor), not to mention the notice of smooth gameplay (scrolling of arrows especially).

Maybe people need to upgrade some of their hardware? That's the only thing I can think of. =\

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:40 pm
by beelee100
Is it just me or all song that I have full combo only worth 4000 score? doesnt make any since on stepmania 5 beta 1a.

Re: StepMania 5 Beta 1

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:25 pm
by SpoOkyGames
Just pointing this out that SM5 Beta 2 has been out for a while... (They converted over to DX9 now.)

Edit: I am going to quietly lock this topic since this is old news...

~ SpoOkyMagician